When despair for the world grows in me . . .

17884161_1353852208027441_6037208671079185002_n

“When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake rests in his beauty on the water,
and the great heron feeds. I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought of grief.
I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars waiting with their light.
For a time I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.”

~ Wendell Berry

 

 

 

 

 

~ Image “She’s Looking At The Same Moon………Wherever She Is” by Baab1
Text & image source: The Garden Of Pensiveness https://web.facebook.com/The-Garden-Of-Pensiveness-367268523352486/

5 thoughts on “When despair for the world grows in me . . .

  1. This is beautiful. When the weight of the world becomes overbearing, I too find my solitude in the things that simply are. They don’t wonder or overthink, or worry, they just are what they’re suppose to be and in through those observations, I find peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

